The Maker movement – Inspiring


I’ve been reading a lot about the Maker movement going on and I have to admit, I’m feeling a bit inspired.

Makezine – Make magazine,etc

Maker Faire

Adafruit – tutorials and parts for electronics projects

Not sure if it’s the inner kid in me wanting to play with some of these amazing new gadgets like 3D printers and Robitics kits (which I’ve always be enthralled with), or the desire to control real world things with software. Either way, I’ve been busy researching all kinds of projects I might be able to tackle with my two boys.

I’ve got some parts and kits on order, from Arduinos to random sensor modules to robotics parts. I backed a kickstarter for a 4-in-1 drawing robot called the mDrawBot which should be arriving some time in May.

mDrawBot Kickstarter

I plan on making this the summer of “making” with my boys. 

It’s my answer to the “What’s there to do?” question I hear every summer when the kids are on summer break from school.

Stay tuned for our 1st project, a water balloon cannon!

Leave a Reply

